FBC Forney’s Lopez, Emmaus Church’s Cooper join list of SBTC officer nominees

CORPUS CHRISTI—Eddie Lopez, pastor of First Baptist Church of Forney en Español, will be nominated to serve as vice president of the Southern Baptists of Texas Convention at its 2022 annual meeting Nov. 14-15 at American Bank Center in Corpus Christi. Lopez will be nominated by Ed Hancock, FBC Forney’s executive pastor who also serves on the SBTC Executive Board.

Sharonda Cooper, a member of Emmaus Church of Georgetown (a new SBTC church plant), will be nominated as convention secretary. Cooper, who has previously served with the Texas Ethics and Religious Liberty Committee, will be nominated by her pastor, Marshall Canales—who previously served with pastor and former SBTC President Juan Sanchez at High Pointe Baptist Church in Austin.

Lopez and Cooper will join Todd Kaunitz, pastor of New Beginnings Baptist Church in Longview, in rounding out the slate of officers to be nominated in Corpus Christi. Kaunitz will be nominated for SBTC president by Caleb Turner, co-pastor of Mesquite Friendship Baptist Church. Kaunitz was first elected to serve as SBTC president on Nov. 9, 2021, at the convention’s annual meeting in Flint.

Most Read

More state conventions join NAMB in Send Network partnerships

ALPHARETTA, Ga. – The North American Mission Board (NAMB) has, in recent years, developed Send Network agreements with state conventions across North America to enhance partnership and church planting within the SBC. So far, 23 state …

Stay informed on the news that matters most.

Stay connected to quality news affecting the lives of southern baptists in Texas and worldwide. Get Texan news delivered straight to your home and digital device.