SBTC Annual Meeting: ‘Stronger Together’

PLANO?The 2004 Southern Baptists of Texas Convention Annual Meeting will be Oct. 25-26 at Prestonwood Baptist Church in Plano, marking the convention’s sixth year after its beginning in 1998.

The SBTC Pastors’ Conference (see schedule on Page 7), also at Prestonwood, precedes the annual meeting, beginning at 6:30 p.m. Oct. 24 and continuing through the following afternoon.

The SBTC Annual Meeting theme is “Stronger Together,” taken from Ecclesiastes 4:12, and will include notable guest preachers, platform guests and musicians. Prestonwood is co-sponsoring with the SBTC the Tuesday night service?a special patriotic emphasis with a guest sermon from Jerry Falwell, pastor of Thomas Road Baptist Church in Lynchburg, Va., and president of Liberty University. Falwell, who founded The Moral Majority in the late 1970s, is well known for his political activism.

The President’s Luncheon is scheduled for Oct. 26 and will feature Tony Evans, pastor of Oak Cliff Bible Fellowship in Dallas and founder and president of The Urban Alternative. Evans is a prolific author and well-known speaker.

The Women’s Luncheon is Oct. 25 and features Jennifer Rothschild, a musician and speaker who lost her eyesight in her teenage years due to a degenerative eye disease.

Advance tickets are required for both luncheons. Cost is $8 for the President’s Luncheon (call Judy Van Hooser at 817-552-2500) and $10 for the Women’s Luncheon (call Gloria Corbitt at 817-552-2500).

Chris Osborne, SBTC president and pastor of Central Baptist Church in Bryan, will call the convention to order at 6:35 p.m. Oct. 25 following pre-session music and prayer.

Monday night includes reports from Jeff Iorg, president of Golden Gate Baptist Theological Seminary, on behalf of the Council of Seminary Presidents; O.S. Hawkins, president of Guidestone Financial Resources (Annuity Board) of the Southern Baptist Convention; Ethics & Religious Liberty President Richard Land; Gerald Edwards, director of East Texas Baptist Family Ministry; and Doug Hodo, president of Houston Baptist University.

Also on Monday evening, Dale Perry, pastor of Friendly Baptist Church in Tyler and a liver transplant survivor, will preach an interpretation of the theme “Stronger Together Around the Word of God,” (t1:time Hour=”19″ Minute=”35″>7:35 p.m.) and Osborne will deliver the president’s message at 8:20 p.m.

Tuesday morning’s session will begin at 9:05 a.m. and include a report from the Committee on Order of Business, introduction of motions and election of officers.

Michael Lewis, pastor of Great Hills Baptist Church in Austin, will preach an interpretation of “Stronger Together in Ministry” (t1:time Hour=”9″ Minute=”35″>9:35 a.m.). followed by reports from Leo Smith, executive director of Texas Baptist Men; the Committee on Committees; LifeWay Christian Resources (Mike Arrington, vice president, corporate affairs), Committee on Nominations; The Criswell College President Jerry Johnson; Executive Board, and Jacksonville College President Edwin Crank.

Sal Sberna, pastor of Metropolitan Baptist Church in Houston, will preach the convention sermon at 11:05 a.m.

Tuesday afternoon begins at 1:45 p.m. and includes a theme interpretation sermon of “Stronger Together in Giving” at 2:15 p.m. from David Turner, pastor, Little Cypress Baptist Church in Orange.

Scheduled reporters include International Mission Board trustee chairman Thomas Hatley; Hyoung Min Kim, Korean Baptist Fellowship of Texas; David Hankins, SBC Executive Committee; SBTC staff; and Harry Lewis, North American Mission Board. SBTC Executive Director Jim Richards delivers the Executive Board report at 3:40 p.m.

Also Tuesday afternoon, officer elections continue and the Committee on Order of Business issues a second report.

The Tuesday night session begins at 6 p.m. and includes a Resolutions Committee report, further officer elections and a final report from the Committee on Order of Business, recognition of outgoing officers and presentation of new officers.

At 7 p.m., Ben Smith, pastor of Lakeland Baptist Church in Lewisville, will deliver a theme interpretation sermon of “Stronger Together for Jesus’ Sake” followed by a guest message from Jerry Falwell at 7:40 p.m.


Most Read

Bradford appointed dean of Texas Baptist College

FORT WORTH—Carl J. Bradford, assistant professor of evangelism and occupant of the Malcolm R. and Melba L. McDow Chair of Evangelism, has been appointed dean of Texas Baptist College, the undergraduate school of Southwestern Baptist Theological …

Stay informed on the news that matters most.

Stay connected to quality news affecting the lives of southern baptists in Texas and worldwide. Get Texan news delivered straight to your home and digital device.